more from
RVNG Intl.
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

FRKWYS Vol. 4​.​5: Nowhere in the Night

by Psychic Ills

  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    — Shipping immediately!
    — FRKWYS Vol. 4.5 is limited to 400 vinyl copies, 180g pressing on Dutch compound, packaged in black jackets with a two color adhesive wrap in the old FRKWYS / Folkways style.

    Includes unlimited streaming of FRKWYS Vol. 4.5: Nowhere in the Night via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $24 USD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $12 USD  or more


No Way 01:17
At Long Last 09:55
Clone 02:50
Schizo Fez 02:13
Shakin 01:19
Lude 04:45


Psychic Ills and Gibby Haynes’ Nowhere in the Night arrives from somewhere sometime ago, a document of sound bending, twisting, and stretching with the joy of collaboration and untethered aspiration.

Psychic Ills, then the trio Tres Warren, Elizabeth Hart, and Brian Tamborello, first intersected musically with Gibby Haynes, then and forever the founding member of Butthole Surfers, when the two groups with Texas roots toured extensively in 2009, and next when the Ills invited Haynes to contribute to the fourth volume of FRKWYS, an ongoing series of intergenerational collaborations that began that same year. Featured alongside interpretations of Psychic Ills’ music by Juan Atkins and Faust’s Hans-Joachim Irmler, Haynes’ contribution, a melted, modular melange, inspired the four musicians to manifest their mutual appreciation in a studio setting.

After the Nowhere in the Night session, the mixed and mastered album would remain relegated to a handful of test pressings while respective creative paths lead to and through new horizons. The project was never abandoned, rather allowed time to steep in mystery. Tres Warren passed away in March 2020. With Liz's guidance, we’re humbled to offer this intimate yet expansive document, and honor Tres’s time with us.


released June 14, 2022

This album was recorded between 10 pm 2/4/2010 and 4 am 2/5/2010

Gibby Haynes - Vocals, Modular Synthesizer
Elizabeth Hart - Bass
Brian Tamborello - Drums
Tres Warren - Guitar, Loops, Percussion, Harmonica

Recorded by Matt Boynton at Monster Island, Brooklyn, NY,
Mastered by Patrick Klem, Klem Sound, Chandler, AZ
Lacquers cut by Mark Richardson for Prairie Cat Mastering, Belvidere, IL
Cover photo by Jeff Burch
Photo post-production and collage by Jasmine Pasquill
Design by WWFG


all rights reserved



Psychic Ills New York, New York

When it comes to following the beat of their own drum, New York’s Psychic Ills have exemplified the phrase since their beginnings in 2003. Initially spawned from electronic-centered home recording experiments, they progressed into all-night full-band exploration in a neighborhood where noise wasn’t a problem. ... more

contact / help

Contact Psychic Ills

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Psychic Ills, you may also like: